Regrowth.

Last January ,daughter Saadia gave me this orchid plant in a glass jar for my birthday. It was loaded with flowers at that time. But like all orchids after the blooming season was over, there were only roots in the glass jar and the leaves. The instruction said to water the roots twice a week and leave them in water for half hour before duming it out. For eleven months i did that. In the last week of November i saw the tiniest evidence of budding, and i held my breath. This grew and grew and yesterday the blooms appeared.
OMG!
It is always such a joy for me to see blooms on orchids after the plant is done with its hibernation. Always a gasp of pleasure and joy. So Shelley and Sayeed, DON’t throw your orchids away after they are done blooming. Believe in resuscitation!!
Thank you Saadi.

Image may contain: plant and indoor
Image may contain: plant
Image may contain: plant, flower and nature
Image may contain: plant and flower
Image may contain: plant and indoor

About Zakiah

I write poetry and some fiction, have a book that was published in 2012. . . Stray Thoughts/Winged Words. I have four grandchildren, ages 16 and half to almost 16 months. I love the ocean, and grew up along the Indian Ocean in South India. I am a retired physician. Don't know much else to say. Thanks for reading. That has been my profile for so many years. My daughter Saadia a great poet and story teller, has two sons; the oldest grandson is now 21 years old, doing architectural engineering at Missouri S&T in Rolla MO. His younger brother is almost 16 and taking driving lessons seriously and is in High School. The other two grandsons, children of my son Sayeed, are 9 and 5. I have recently published another book titled Gulistan, A home of Flowers. It has stories and memories of my childhood and of a distant land which I still consider as my HOME., even though I have lived here in the US for more than fifty years. Hope to see you on my blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to Regrowth.

  1. mrswrangler says:

    Glad it came back to bring you joy a second time.

  2. slmret says:

    It’s beautiful, Zakiah — and it will continue to re-bloom as long as you care for it so well!

  3. Your orchids looks so healthy! The leaves and stems are thick and very green. I may have to change the soil on one of my orchid plants.

    • Zakiah says:

      Do you use the orchid fertilizer? I use a tsp of that to half a gallon and water the plant. I use only about a third or half coup of water per plant. I fertilize once in a blue moon. Don’t do it regularly like I am supposed to every three to four months. I think orchids are difficult, but challenges are good, me thinks!

  4. murisopsis says:

    You do have a green thumb! But maybe it saw all your other orchids blooming and is trying to compete! Either way it is a most beautiful plant!!

  5. Zakiah says:

    ha ha. That is a good supposition; you think??
    Thank you Val.

  6. I learned something 😉 BEAUTIFUL orchid.

  7. So exciting, beautiful, and joyful! YAY! 🙂
    I bet you talk to your plants (like I do)…they feel your love, SweetZ!!! 🙂
    HUGS!!! 🙂

  8. My mother and aunt are great with getting orchids to grow again. I hope I will have the same green thumb one day in another life. Ha!

    • Zakiah says:

      I am always so amazed at the way they bloom; just when I think, meh, the plant is gone, I see the early budding of a green limb along the dried up twigs. Such a blessing of hope and faith to my old heart.

  9. whyzat says:

    Zakiah, you shouldn’t have! I just received the lovely cowel and scarf you sent. They are beautiful and I love the colors! I lost your email address somehow or I would have contacted you that way.
    Anyway, that you very much!
    Dian

  10. This plant gives us an admirable lesson of faith.. And your patience and perseverance has been rewarded , Zakiah.
    Love ❤
    Michel

    • Zakiah says:

      Dear Michel,
      Thank you for stopping by. I appreciate your comment. Every time a plant blooms like this, my heart is filled with wonder and hope. have a wonderful Christmas and a very happy New Year.
      Love,
      Zakiah.

  11. onedanyankee says:

    It’s a beautiful flower, Zakiah, and an excellent reward for faithful care, and even sweeter having been a gift from a child. Congratulations, on a job well done!

  12. a life that starts again is moving to see. I wish you a great holiday season and happy New Year, Zakiah..
    Michel ❤

  13. digitalgranny says:

    I remember your beautiful orchids from Xanga years and that was so long ago. I remember your beautiful yard and garden also. So happy to see this orchid blooming.

Leave a comment