Radiation Therapy

I remember the day I said I found a lump
the whole day I was in a slump
couldn’t breathe, because the shock was so huge
tried to cry, but tears didn’t come thru’.

My nights I spent fighting the vampire bat
I really was not prepared for a blow like that
Surgery, Radiation, followed by chemo
Really? what a dilemma for my ego!

Surgery went okay, chemo was declined
Radiation took its toll, the skin was fried
second degree burns, raw wounds,
and foolishly, this therapy,no big deal , I had presumed.

So friends, my radiation therapy went bust after three and half weeks. I had a horrible skin reaction to the 180 degrees centigrade treatments. The first few sessions were good, but gradually the “sunburn” effect came on with marked swelling and redness. The skin started blistering, and left raw areas all over the chest wall, neck and back. the therapy was stopped and I used Sylvadene cream generously. Fortunately I heal just as easily as I get injured. ha ha. So after a lapse of two and half weeks, I was able to resume the therapy yesterday. I have ten more sessions left.

I am upset that my skin reacted so violently. But I am okay. Not scared or depressed. There are so many who have it worse than me. And as I have always hoped that it be me, and not my children, I am thankful that I am able to bear the discomfort. Like all things, I say, this too shall pass!

Now, I am hoping that I will be better at writing and posting here.

Hugs to each one of you. Hope your new year will bring lots of joys and much peace to your hearts.

Ciao.

About Zakiah

I write poetry and some fiction, have a book that was published in 2012. . . Stray Thoughts/Winged Words. I have four grandchildren, ages 16 and half to almost 16 months. I love the ocean, and grew up along the Indian Ocean in South India. I am a retired physician. Don't know much else to say. Thanks for reading. That has been my profile for so many years. My daughter Saadia a great poet and story teller, has two sons; the oldest grandson is now 21 years old, doing architectural engineering at Missouri S&T in Rolla MO. His younger brother is almost 16 and taking driving lessons seriously and is in High School. The other two grandsons, children of my son Sayeed, are 9 and 5. I have recently published another book titled Gulistan, A home of Flowers. It has stories and memories of my childhood and of a distant land which I still consider as my HOME., even though I have lived here in the US for more than fifty years. Hope to see you on my blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Radiation Therapy

  1. You’re a beacon of strength, courage and grace. I hope the remaining sessions will go well for you. Prayers and hugs.

  2. beowulf222 says:

    I am wishing you all the best, and hopefully the therapy will be successful with minimal side effects.

  3. Your strength and attitude are inspiring to put it mildly. Prayers for minimal side effects from here on out as well as healing. Much love, my friend.

    • Zakiah says:

      Thank you Elizabeth. I am almost done now. The last session is on Tuesday. Then I will start on the anti hormone pills. Hope I won’t react badly to them.

  4. murisopsis says:

    Yikes! I hope the resumed treatments are better tolerated. You are in my thoughts and prayers !

  5. slmret says:

    As with the above comments, I hope the remaining radiation treatments will be better tolerated. I’m glad you healed easily from the previous damage, and hope those remaining will not burn so badly! The one good thing is that the bad cancer cells burned too — with any good fortune, they will not come back! Love and hugs!

  6. 😦 I’m so sorry to hear about the really bad ouchies and pain from the radiation. 😦
    I hope the rest of the treatments will go much much much better.
    SweetZ, your courage, positive attitude, grace, and sense of humor are inspiring to me! Thank you!
    ❤ and prayers and (((HUGS))) for 2019!

    • Zakiah says:

      You are very sweet Carolyn. Thank you for your prayers and love. I am doing well. Looking forward to getting the therapy done with. Love and hugs to you.

  7. mrswrangler says:

    My aunt had her radiation suspended with 3 treatments left for the same reason. They tested and said she had enough. They added treatments on at the beginning so she got more than first thought. Less than a 10 percent difference between chemo and radiation for survival rating for her kind and she did not want chemo.

  8. 💖 sending you lots of hugs and well wishes for a speedy recovery.

  9. I am saddened , Zakiah, by all of the sufferings that you had to endure with the radiations treatment.
    You are in my prayers for a complete and speedy recovery .
    Love ❤
    Michel

  10. r_hsw says:

    i’m so sorry to have missed so many of your posts and i’m so surprised to learn of your health situation. wishing you to recover fast so you could enjoy the rest of 2019. hugs.

Leave a comment