January 11th 2018

When I was a little kid, I used to think that January 11th was the best day of the year. Nothing and no other date or day could top it. I would wake up and there would be smiles and every one would be so good to me. The grass in the front looked greener, the air itself was full of smiles and laughter… or so I thought. How could any day be better than the day I was born?

Friends and relatives would come and bring gifts, there would be such a grand party at home, and I would strut around like a snobby cat. Of course I don’t feel like that anymore, but this birthday seemed so special to me. Today I had so many loving calls from my family in India, and Dubai, Canada and Australia and from all my friends and relatives in the US.

My daughter in law Shelley took me to lunch to a Greek restaurant.

Last night Shelley called to say that Zain the 4 year old told her that he wanted to give all his toys to me for my birthday. She told him that Ammi doesn’t need those toys, but he insisted. So she called to tell me that. I started laughing. I told her to tell him that instead of him giving me a toy, I would get a toy for him. she replied…
” you have to see the front passenger side seat in my SUV! He made me do ten trips to the car in the garage and some of the toys are spilling over onto the seat in the back!”

How cute is that??!! Of course after he fell asleep, she transferred the toys back into his play area in the basement, and he had forgotten about it when I saw him at lunch today. Had such a beautiful day, even though the day as such was totally crappy with extremely cold winds, temperature that dropped from 55 degrees at noon, to 27 by 1 pm. The ice starting pelting the windows and the roads. But somehow, by 3:30 or so, the ice had disappeared from the roads, and they were easily accessible. But it is so dang cold. M took me out to a Thai restaurant for dinner, and I asked Saadia and Dave to join us.

It was a full day. In the morning, I came here to turn the computer on, and voila! I see Google wishing me a Happy Birthday. This is the third year in a row! That felt good.  My Facebook page is going crazy. I have never received so many congratulatory comments. Friends from good old xanga days were there, wishing me. What a special day! Such an ego booster.

Hope all of you have had a great day too.

IMG_7053

Sorry about the fuzzy picture, but this was the best I could do, because the greeting stayed on for only a few seconds, and I had to click the shot. I got a better one on my cell phone which I posted on my facebook page.

Good night friends. Another year starts for me now.

 

 

 

 

About Zakiah

I write poetry and some fiction, have a book that was published in 2012. . . Stray Thoughts/Winged Words. I have four grandchildren, ages 16 and half to almost 16 months. I love the ocean, and grew up along the Indian Ocean in South India. I am a retired physician. Don't know much else to say. Thanks for reading. That has been my profile for so many years. My daughter Saadia a great poet and story teller, has two sons; the oldest grandson is now 21 years old, doing architectural engineering at Missouri S&T in Rolla MO. His younger brother is almost 16 and taking driving lessons seriously and is in High School. The other two grandsons, children of my son Sayeed, are 9 and 5. I have recently published another book titled Gulistan, A home of Flowers. It has stories and memories of my childhood and of a distant land which I still consider as my HOME., even though I have lived here in the US for more than fifty years. Hope to see you on my blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to January 11th 2018

  1. slmret says:

    Belatedly, a happy birthday wish! May it be the happiest yet ~ ~ ~ and perhaps we’ll get together this year!
    Love and hugs
    Janet

  2. Zakiah says:

    We have been thinking of you Janet. I will try and call you tomorrow. Praying that every one in Santa Barbara is doing well and out of harm’s way.
    Thank you for your wishes. Yes, I hope we can meet this year.

    • slmret says:

      Thank you, Zakiah! My family and Tom are safe and pretty much out of harm’s way. Pam said that her creek was up on Monday, but she’s seen it higher, so that sounded safe. I have a friend, though, who lives about 4 houses down from where the worst damage occurred — it’s a long story, but I haven’t heard from her since the slide occurred. She’s not on the fatality list that was released today, but they still aren’t sure that they’ve found everybody — on the other hand, she may have been evacuated, in which case she doesn’t have my phone # or her computer, etc. It may be a while before we reconnect! There is more rain in the prediction for a week or so from now — I hope it’s not deluges!

    • slmret says:

      It’s been a rough month in Santa Barbara!

  3. murisopsis says:

    Happy Birthday -from this site too! Sounds like a wonderful celebration!

  4. Happy Birthday! I love that story about Zain. That is so precious. May you continue to be blessed with grace, talent and humour.

  5. beowulf222 says:

    🎂 Happy Birthday!!

  6. whyzat says:

    Happy birthday, Zakiah! The bitter cold can certainly make celebrating more difficult!
    We went to Iowa for Christmas and just about froze our butts off! People told us that we will have to get used to that again when we move up there, but I don’t think you can ever get used to 4 degrees!!

  7. Happy Birthday, SweetZ!!!! Sounds like you had a wonderful time! Aw, on Zain and his love for you! What a precious little prince! 🙂
    You know you can celebrate every day for a week! (That’s how I do birthdays!!! 😀 )
    May you have many many many more birthdays! 🙂
    ❤ and HUGS!!!

  8. mrswrangler says:

    Happy Birthday. Sounds like a wonderful day. My birthday is still special because Wrangler makes it that way.

  9. Tree says:

    Hope you had a great birthday!

  10. Happy Belated Birthday, my friend. I’m glad you had a good day. Such a sweet thing for your grandson to do. Adorable. love and hugs.

  11. r_hsw says:

    a belated Happy Bday to you, zakiah!

Leave a comment