Lake Lure North Carolina.

IMG_4693

Last week I went to Lake Lure North Carolina to visit a friend. Indra and her husband Murphy had been my friends for more than fifty years. I had known Indra from childhood. Murphy was an alumnus of my medical school. He was several years my senior, but because ours was a small private American medical school, we were all very close to each other, and every one knew every one else.

Indra and Murphy were vacationing in The Villages in Florida while we were in Vero Beach this winter. He developed pneumonia which was a fulminant kind. After a few days in the ICU, he passed away. It was so sad. The funeral and memorial service was in Port Orange, but we couldn’t get there, because my son and daughter in law were visiting us that same weekend with their son Andrew.

Mohamed and I went to visit Indra last week. This was a better thing to do, because I doubt if we would have been able to talk to her in Port Orange. Here, we talked endlessly into the wee hours of the morning. Indra’s father was the assistant dean of the university where my father was the dean. The families were very close to each other. So we were able to reminisce a lot.

Another couple Mona and Jegdish, who live in Clewiston Florida, have a summer home in Lake Lure, and were visiting the mountains at the same time. So it was a kind of semi reunion of the alumni. I made dinner for them one night. Jegdish who is retired surgeon, has a Ferrari. Well of course M was so excited about it that I had to take pictures of the ‘thing’. Their home up in the mountains, is a grand mansion. He has cherry blossom trees bordering the yard. I had never seen cherry blossom before. THAT excited me more than the car.IMG_4730 IMG_4731 IMG_4732 IMG_4733 IMG_4734 IMG_4735 IMG_4736  IMG_4694 IMG_4695  IMG_4700 IMG_4737 IMG_4738 IMG_4739The mountains were so beautiful and the reflections of the trees and mountains just filled my heart with so much peace and humility. Here are some photos from my trip.

This is a picture of Mona, Indra, Jegdish and me.

IMG_4705

About Zakiah

I write poetry and some fiction, have a book that was published in 2012. . . Stray Thoughts/Winged Words. I have four grandchildren, ages 16 and half to almost 16 months. I love the ocean, and grew up along the Indian Ocean in South India. I am a retired physician. Don't know much else to say. Thanks for reading. That has been my profile for so many years. My daughter Saadia a great poet and story teller, has two sons; the oldest grandson is now 21 years old, doing architectural engineering at Missouri S&T in Rolla MO. His younger brother is almost 16 and taking driving lessons seriously and is in High School. The other two grandsons, children of my son Sayeed, are 9 and 5. I have recently published another book titled Gulistan, A home of Flowers. It has stories and memories of my childhood and of a distant land which I still consider as my HOME., even though I have lived here in the US for more than fifty years. Hope to see you on my blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Lake Lure North Carolina.

  1. sunsetdragon says:

    Love the photo of you four beautiful, smiling people.
    Beautiful view of the lake, so calm and peaceful.
    That thing is a mighty sweet ride. 😛
    Beautiful cherry blossoms and I love to stand under the cherry trees when the wind is blowing the blossoms like pink snow, and same for apple trees.
    Have a wonderful week end coming up way to fast.
    Where do the days go as they fly by so fast.

  2. mrswrangler says:

    Sounds like you had a great visit.

  3. Zakiah says:

    I did. thanks for reading the post.

  4. beowulf222 says:

    Sounds like you enjoyed your visit. You were right that you wouldn’t have been able to catch up with your friend that much during the funeral.

    • Zakiah says:

      At the time of the funeral and the memorial service, I was distraught, but after my visit last week, I realized how much more time I had with her, and we were able to chat at great length.

  5. slmret says:

    I love this post — the photos of that ‘thing,’ the cherry blossoms, the misty lake, and the last shot of the four of you. I’m so glad you went to visit your friend in NC — much better than to go to a funeral, where things happen too quickly and are too superficial! Thanks for sharing this visit with us.

    • Zakiah says:

      Janet, the mountains were so majestic and so serene. Everything was lush and beautiful. I thought of you a lot, and knew that if you were there, you would have done such justice to the place with your expertise in photography. I am happy that I went there and sent so much time with her.

  6. I’m sorry to hear about Indra’s husband dying. 😦
    I’m so glad you got to go spend some time with her now. I know that had to be very special to her. As often in the weeks after the funeral is when you really need to talk to someone.
    Looks like a beautiful place and a beautiful time and beautiful food…making sweet memories!
    I wonder how Lake Lure got it’s name.
    HUGS!!! 🙂
    PS…Okay…I have to say…that car is gorgeous!!! 🙂 Even more so if Magnum PI was driving it! 😉

    • Zakiah says:

      I am glad I went and spent such quality time with her also. The place was amazing in its beauty. There was a bull frog just at the lip of the lake that blew its horn every so often. Added to the splendor of the place. 🙂

  7. kaylar says:

    Beauty, beauty beauty. Wonderful. I love knowing you are out in the world, spreading your love light.

    • Zakiah says:

      Oh what a lovely comment! Your words boost my ego so much Kim. Thank you. I am sure if you were there, you would have taken a lot of pictures also and written a lot of poetry.

  8. Sadness, compassion but also good memories together made your stay very special ,Zakiah;
    The Ferrari amazes me , a nice raced car!
    Love ❤
    Michel

  9. It looks so beautiful and peaceful there. You’re a wonderful friend to visit her. It’s hard to talk at a funeral when there are just so many things going on.

    • Zakiah says:

      I realize that now. But at that time, I was so upset that I couldn’t be with her. This was much better. Loved being there and talking to her for a long time into the night.

  10. What a lovely place. I like the cherry blossoms better than the car too.
    Glad you got to talk to your friend afterwards. I’m sure she needed you more after things settled down.

  11. mlbncsga says:

    Yes, the visit you made was perfect. When my son passed I couldn’t start to remember who was there or what was said at the memorial service…but the friends that came later and sat and talked I will never forget…Lake Lure is a beautiful place, didn’t they film the movie Dirty Dancing there? ilym

  12. rudyhou says:

    oh, i love that. fallen cherry blossom petals on the ground. reminds me of the spring i had in japan once. which also reminds me of the many foliage seasons i experienced in new england. fallen leaves/petals on the ground somehow brings a feel of peacefulness. at least for me.

Leave a comment